Miyori’s Forest (ミヨリの森) is a 2007 anime film produced by Nippon Animation and directed by 山本二三 (Nizō Yamamoto). Miyori is about to become the guardian of a forest she never remembers going into, but this isn’t all. The forest is inhabited by creatures who not only seem to know her since she was a baby, but also know a secret which is crucial for both their survival, and the villagers’. How did you like it?

I quite liked the film. The story is easy to figure out from a certain point onward, but it was fun to discover all the spirits living in Miyori’s forest as well as the village built next to that forest. The film had quite nice visuals as well – some bits reminded me quite a lot of scenes from Studio Ghibli films, like Mononoke Hime. How did you find the film?

Ghibli-ish, indeed. I am a big fan of productions where when someone finds out about spirits or stuff which seems ‘supernatural’ they don’t waste half or worse, three quarters of the series/film to show me the drama, until they finally accept they are what they are. So I think I really liked this film, with regards to this. She took it very well and it might have taken her a while to adapt to living in a village after coming from Tokyo, but I’d say she did well. They created really good characters for this film, I think I liked them all – except for the jerks trying to build a dam and destroy the forest, bloody hunters! I think I’m getting rather fired up again, so do take over.

Well you’ve got a very good reason to be fired up. On the other hand, the jerks were eventually driven away and that was quite satisfactory to watch xD. Although one might say that this film isn’t so much on the ‘magical’ as it is on the ‘supernatural’ side of things, I’d say it was quite enchanting; it shows how much one can accomplish if they only ask for the help of others (be they people or, in this case, spirits).

Hm, it is supernatural, but on the magical side of it, what with the deity of the cherry tree, and the god of wind and stuff like that… I don’t know, I just felt it was a magical experience more than just a supernatural one, but that’s just me.

And on this note, we’ll leave with the trailer (albeit a very short one).

Thanks for reading!

 

MaHo Café: Twelve Magical Days of Christmas 2015: Day 09 ~ Miyori’s Forest ~」への1件のフィードバック

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

