Erm… I had not planned to be absent for such a long time, I promise. I did want to write but either I did not have the time or the necessary mood. I don’t like doing anything half-heartedly, so even if I felt like writing something for the blog, if I was not in the mood, I chose not to, rather than ruin a post.

Anyway, here I am now with the second post of this kind. And since yesterday I uploaded the critique for Inuyasha – which brought back lots of memories – I felt like having one of my favourite themes in this post (I was going to, sooner or later, but it just so happened to be rather sooner).

So, here we go with Every Heart by BoA.

This song means a lot to me, as Inuyasha is one of the anime series which, like I mentioned here, marked my years of high school. I am a little biased when listening to this song, as the first time I heard it was when I was watching the series. Regarding the lyrics of the song, I think it’s blatantly obvious that to me this is a love song. I don’t know exactly how to put this into words, but to me, this is one of those songs which will always mean a lot, which will always bring back lots of memories, which will always take me back to a certain time and place.

Next up, The Reluctant Heroes (which is part of the Attack on Titan OST) by mpi.

Except for the fact that I L-O-V-E the bass there, I also like the lyrics, although every time I listen to it I experience various mondegreens *cough* Anyway, I did love the series and I’m certainly looking forward to its second season (and hopefully I’ll get to read the manga as I’ve been intending to for quite a while now and also to write up a critique). I find that to me, this is one of those highly-motivating-energetic-insanely-kick-ass songs. Enough said.

Going on to songs which bring back rather painful memories…Immer Sie by Itō Kanako (いとう かなこ).

Now this is what I call chills. I can only imagine this song in the context of DRAMAtical Murder, as this is where I heard it for the first time. By pure coincidence I got on Clear’s route and as it so happens, I got on his bad ending first (thank goodness for that, because I could almost wash away the awfully bitter taste with the good ending…but still….but still….that ending….oh, those lyrics). Anyway, THAT was one hell of a crazy ending and it messed me up so bad. I finished all Clear’s route in one night and by the morning I decided to skip my class that day, especially considering how puffy my eyes were…well, that and the fact that I felt kind of sick, what with all I’d read and seen. Nonetheless, this is a brilliant song, and as bad as the memories associated with it might be, I still listen to it, I still love it. By no means do I enjoy making myself suffer (I think?)…

Happy-happy song next: Zutto (ずっと) by ShōnenT (少年T).

I love the anime (君と僕). And I love ShōnenT. And hell yeah, I love the lyrics. Of course it can be interpreted in the context of a romantic couple/relationship, but somehow….somehow….besides that, I take it in the context of the anime. And that alone is enough to make me love it a lot. I think it’s just such a nice melody and the lyrics are just perfect.

The last one for this post is Tokyo NIGHTS by Utada Hikaru (宇多田 ヒカル).

It might seem weird, but if I remember well, I was watching Spiral: The Bonds of Reasoning when I was just browsing YouTube and found a very nice amv (which I couldn’t find in months, I kept searching for it but still can’t find it) with scenes from the anime and with this song in the background. And I just fell in love with it. It really wasn’t any biggie, just a normal amv. But at the time I was so much into the anime, that those scenes plus the song itself seemed to blend in such a perfect way. Utada’s songs usually have a very nice beat to them, and this one’s no exception. Oh, yet another reason why I found the song and the scenes from the anime perfect together: the lyrics – they seemed to go hand in hand. One of my favourite parts of the song is the following:

TOKYO NIGHTS                                            Tokyo nights!

見つからない                                                  I haven’t found it yet,

本当の自由を探してる                                    But I’m looking for true freedom.

輝きだす                                                          It shines!

TOKYO NIGHTS                                             Tokyo nights!

Love is hard to find                                           Love is hard to find

運命の出会いを待ちなさい                             Keep waiting for your encounter with Fate

まだ若い                                                          You’re still young.

Oh, how I missed writing! It really feels good to be back! I hope you enjoyed today’s post. Thank you for stopping by!

 ~*~

©Sony Music

©EMI Music Japan/Utada Hikaru

©Universal Music

©Indies Maker/Itou Kanako

©SM Entertainment

©Sawano Hiroyuki

I do not own these songs.

| Every Heart | The Reluctant Heroes | Immer Sie | Zutto | Tokyo NIGHTS |」への2件のフィードバック

  1. I really liked Every Heart too! I didn’t mention it much in high school though, because everyone who watched the show hated the song hehe. That brings back a lot of memories. I didn’t even realize BoA was Korean until I looked her up. It’s kind of funny, but while looking for other songs by her I came across TVXQ’s Tri-angle and that turned me off kpop for a long time. I don’t listen to kpop anymore, but when I did everyone recommended them to me and I just couldn’t.

    いいね: 1人

    • Glad to hear you like it, too! 😀 I didn’t really mention anything anime/Japan-related in school or high-school, because I didn’t have somebody to talk about this stuff with (I mean except for home).

      Hmmm…I used to listen to K-pop, but not as much as Japanese music. Except for BoA (which I consider Japanese for some reason hahaha) I know a couple of songs from T-ARA, Girls’ Generation and the guys who sing ‘Haru Haru’….BIGBANG! 😀 I finally remembered what they were called.
      I don’t know anything about TVXQ, though O.o will most probably look it up out of curiosity 😀

      いいね

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

