Oh, how I’ve been waiting for this!! The moment I read the title, the character automatically popped into my head. Before that, though, I’d like to mention two other ones who are far from being as bad as today’s ‘winner’, but still touched some nerves.

Firstly, there’s Dekomori Sanae (凸守 早苗) from Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions (中二病でも恋がしたい).

656086

I found her awfully annoying, immature and spoiled, not to mention egocentric and selfish. I know how much Rikka Takanashi (小鳥遊 六花)  means to her, but as a close friend – the best, perhaps – she should have been happy for Rikka when she started going out with Yūta Togashi (富樫 勇太); it bothered me a lot because I felt like she was trying to ‘keep’ Rikka all to herself. Now, I do know where she comes from. I’ve been in that position and I can’t describe how bad it is when you feel your best friend has replaced you (most times with a boyfriend, sometimes with a new friend); so, in that regard, I know where she comes from. However, as much as I could, when I was in that situation, I tried not to make a fuss out of it (and I managed, up until a certain point, obviously). I also understand that not everybody is like me and of course she can react any way she feels like – each and every one of us has different coping strategies. I know… but her behaviour annoyed me nonetheless. Perhaps because I wished I would have behaved like her and let it out and make it obvious that it hurt a lot to feel like that. Maybe, who knows? I find it pointless to think about that now.

Next is none other than Yuno Gasai (我妻 由乃) from Future Diary (未来日記).

566491

The sole reason for this is not her crazy behaviour – that is exactly why I loved – yes, you read that right, L-O-V-E-D – her; the reason why I ‘hated’ her was that she killed my favourite character in the whole series: Aru Akise (秋瀬 或). I have a huge soft spot for white-haired characters – except for Shion, from No. 6. I loved Akise to pieces and felt so sad, angry, and disappointed when he died – especially at her hands. I didn’t want to accept it. I hated her so bad at that time, that I wanted someone to kill her right that instant!! It might be weird that I can love her even though she committed one of the biggest crimes in my book, but that’s that *shrug*

So, I finally got to the character I hate the most. Oh no, it’s not Yagami Light; oh no, it’s not Sayaka Miki; it’s actually Orihime Inoue (井上 織姫) from Bleach.

482101

Yep yep. Why is it so easy for me to hate her? Oh, where do I even start?? Just like Sayaka Miki, I find her very weak – in the way that she has very poor resolve. To me, she seems to be doing the most important things so half-heartedly; she wants to seem like she’s thoughtful and cares about others, but she actually hurts them the most with her own actions. And I’ve the perfect example to back-up that claim of mine. It’s when she goes to Hueco Mundo because, if I remember well (it’s been a while since I watched Bleach, especially that arc), Ulquiorra Cifer tells her that if she doesn’t go with him – or if she stands up to him –, he’ll kill the person she ‘cares about the most’. Now, if she had used the few neurons she was blessed with, she would have known that regardless of whether she went or not, there would anyway be a confrontation between Ichigo and Ulquirra and the only difference she made was that she ‘delayed’ it. Had she stayed with Ichigo, the latter and his friends would not have had to go through all the nightmare they went through searching for her all over Hueco Mundo and fighting the other Arrancars. They would have had a nice fight in Karakura and nothing more. But no, she had to feel like she was protecting everyone, like she was a victim – in fact, now that I’m typing this, I think she could have done all of this on purpose to see whether Ichigo comes to save her…I think I hate her even more now – and so decided to cause trouble not only to ‘the one she loved’ but to his friends as well. And this could be seen from how everything went on from there.

And it’s also just the fact that no matter what she does, she has to start by second-guessing herself, then asking for others’ opinion, then hesitating, by the time she finally acts it’s either too late or it all turned into something completely wrong. As I mentioned in the post for Puella Magi Madoka Magica, I hate characters with poor resolve, who seem unable to think for themselves, who are incompetent in the worst possible way: not being able to make a decision and see it through no matter what, who are overly sentimental – like Orihime is – , who get in the way of the others (what’s more, not ‘others’ but ‘the ones whom they love the most’) just by existing! The way she acts – in general – and her so-called reasons for doing so, seem some of the most stupid out there.

I know how harsh everything I said here is, and I reiterate what I wrote on my ‘About’ page: these are solely my opinions, nobody else needs to agree with them. I am aware that there are people out there who love her and as much as I can’t possibly comprehend that, I accept it and I hope they do not take it personally and do not feel hurt (like I do when someone insults my favourite characters – and then I become very protective of them to the point where people start asking me ‘have you thought about becoming a lawyer instead of a psychologist? You have the mouth, you know?’).

So, this concludes today’s challenge, or better said, rant. As usual, thanks for stopping by!

Thirty-day anime challenge – Day 20:  Anime Character that Gets on Your Nerves」への6件のフィードバック

  1. I found Dekomori okay in the first season, but incredibly annoying in the second one. Granted, I found almost everyone to be annoying in the season season.

    Orihime is a weak character. I agree with you there. She is one of the strongest though, which is why it’s a bit more annoying seeing her act that way. She’s mostly used for T&A though, so Kubo clearly forgets about her so I do too.

    いいね: 1人

    • If only Kubo had given her more neurons and less T&A *sigh* This post really did turn out to be a rant hahaha

      As for Chuunibyou, except for Dekomori, I found everything and everybody hilarious so it’s was no biggie 😀

      いいね

  2. I used to hate Orihime due to stupid reasons like the Ichigo X Orihime pairing by fans of the said pairing. I shipped Ichigo X Rukia, so Ichigo X Orihime was a no-no to me (aaah, those days). Anyway, I hated her even more because of that Hueco Mundo arc. She’s still useless as ever (yeah, even now).
    Kinda off-topic: Though many might say that Sakura is the most useless main female character in shounen battle manga, I honestly think that Sakura isn’t that useless as they think.

    いいね: 1人

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

