Normally this would be a tie between certain Ghibli films (such as Spirited Away, Ponyo and quite a few others), Kimi to Boku (君と僕) and Boundary of Emptiness (空の境界). But while I watched those Ghibli films maximum three times each (maybe Spirited Away is an exception, if I remember well), I watched Boundary of Emptiness much more than that (I think it was 5 times for the first seven films, 4 times for the Epilogue, and twice for Mirai Fukuin + Extra Chorus) and I still want to watch it. So here it is: the anime that I could watch over and over and over and not only would it not get old, but also I could still go on watching it is Boundary of Emptiness (空の境界).

663381

As I have already mentioned here, I watched the films in this series not in the chronological order, but in the order in which they are meant to be watched. I think they were released in that particular order on purpose. I think it ads to how the story unfolds, to the opinion we create about the characters, to how we perceive the series as a whole.

520485

[have to love both the chibies and the facial expressions/actions of the others in this image O.o ]

If there’s one anime which gives one a lot of food for thought, it would certainly be Boundary of Emptiness. Some of my favourite concepts are explained – and extremely well illustrated at that – in this series, concepts such as double existence (as Tōko explained it in Overlooking View, Kirie was ‘controlling two bodies with one mind’), apparent double personality (I said ‘apparent’ because it turned out that this was not Shiki’s case), Shiki’s Mystic Eyes of Death Perception (seeing the ‘death’ of things), insensitivity to pain, clairvoyance, and the one I loved the most composite individual personalities (which I won’t get into here because I wrote quite a lengthy paragraph about it and I don’t find it ‘appropriate’ to reiterate) – I mean the Epilogue is loaded with ‘goodness’, and by this I mean there’s a lot of philosophy and psychology (to say the least) going on there.

372714

Anyway, moving on, what I wanted to say was that probably there are people out there who watched the series once and caught every single detail right from the start and found that they didn’t need to watch it again. But I think that even when I was quite happy with how much I’d understood (I still think there are so many aspects and concepts which are scattered around the films in this series and I still haven’t managed to grasp them) I still wanted to watch it more.

362815

[this series is magic – quite literally ^_^ ]

And I may be stupid (as in, in general) but the more I watched it, the more I felt like I understood what was going on, what certain ‘things’ meant, why the action unfolded that way, why the characters behaved the way they did – I felt like I could understand them, and so on and so forth. I never found it useless or boring to watch it again. Whenever I’d start watching it anew, I’d always be excited and looking forward to it. Because I knew I’d see some of my all-time favourite characters, because I knew I was in for an awesome time, because I couldn’t wait to get more food for thought, because I knew what kind of music and level of animation would accompany the story (Thanks to Yuki Kajiura and ufotable) – and I couldn’t wait for these moments.

644799

This is how I feel about it now and it’s been like this for over 4 years now – I don’t think it’ll change, not too soon at least. And this concludes today’s challenge. Thanks for stopping by!

Bonus:

643255

 [like mother, like daughter – what can I say? ^_^ ]

Thirty-day anime challenge – Day 14:  Anime that Never Gets Old No Matter How Many Times You’ve Rewatched It」への2件のフィードバック

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

