I used to compare myself to anime characters when I was a kiddo; when I grew up it just seemed wrong to do it. Perhaps because I realised that each and everybody is unique in their own way, and even though we share certain similarities, it is ‘wrong’ or even ‘inappropriate’ to compare ourselves to others. And this applies to any fictional characters as well, not just anime. But getting over this, I do take it as a compliment every time somebody tells me I’m like a certain anime character, especially if they’re one of my favourites.

Anyway, the anime character I am most similar to is – at least for now – Akemi Homura (暁美 ほむら) from Puella Magi Madoka Magica.

652941

Besides the fact that I respect and admire her, and regarding certain aspects I do feel I am similar to her more than I am to other anime characters, some of my friends (those who watch anime and watched the series) also think I am quite similar to her. The reasons for both my feelings and theirs seem to revolve around Homura’s mental strength, her stubbornness – or perseverance, if you will – , her strong will and the extent to which she can go for the sake of her loved ones. My sister also pointed out that just like her, I’m willing to sacrifice anything for my friends, if I thought they deserve it.

568350

 Another important reason is that I do identify myself with her, so she wins.

I should mention that one of the biggest reasons why I now avoid comparing myself to anime characters is because I simply don’t think I’m as good as them. Social psychology could easily explain this, but that’s a story for my other blog.

Anyway, thanks for reading thus far! As always, thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy reading about my experiences with this anime challenge (and anime/manga etc. in general).

Thirty-day anime challenge – Day 13:  Anime Character You Are Most Similar To」への5件のフィードバック

  1. She’s my favourite character from Madoka, mainly because of her stubbornness and her burning desire to do what she feels is right. It might not always be the right thing, but she believes it is and will fight to make her goals happen. All good traits to have, as long as it doesn’t go overboard.

    I’m not sure why you don’t think you’re as good as the characters. Sometimes, they are written in a way that it’s impossible to relate to them, but a lot of them are flawed like us. Plus, you’re real and they’re not…so you’re definitely better than them. 😉

    いいね: 2人

    • Nice way to look at it… I never saw that side of it O.o Thank you, I’m feeling a little better 😀

      It’s just that….characters are most times created in such a way that they either seem very close to being perfect, or have such subtle ‘flaws’ that one wouldn’t say they’re not… Add that to my opinion about myself and you get the above post 😀 I do have to admit though, that I take a lot of pride in the fact that my friends consider that I’m similar to her 😀

      いいね

  2. Homura is one personal favorite character of mine as well, but I’ll have to save my all-time favorite for another time. Madoka Magica is why you shouldn’t judge something because of its art direction and advertising. Anyways, nice little article here.

    いいね: 1人

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words! However, I remember praising the animation and the art of the series (although I don’t remember having said anything about the way it is advertised) … Or am I misunderstanding something here?

      いいね: 1人

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

