And here goes the second day of the challenge *grins widely*

Erm… for those who know me this really won’t come as a surprise: my favourite anime so far is 空の境界 (Boundary of Emptiness).

446160

I have already written up a critique for it, so I won’t reiterate what I’d said there. I can say though, that I’ll never forget how I felt the first time I’ve watched it. I had already seen Elfen Lied, Death Note, and many other serious anime – I’m talking about genres such as psychological, drama, crime, horror/thriller. But this – THIS – was for me one of a kind!!! It was the first anime which made me feel like there are some really good ‘things’ out there – and this was one of the very few unique, precious, brilliant, and last but by no means least, beautiful such ‘things’.

I remember like it was yesterday (I think the first time I’ve watched it was about 4-5 years ago) that I watched it in one night and I was so happy at the end of the seven films!!! (I said seven because the Epilogue and Mirai Fukuin/Extra Chorus were not out yet). It was this anime which made me fall in love with Yuki Kajiura-sama and Kalafina. It was this anime which made me feel like I was so small a being; like there were so many aspects of mines that I could, and actually am able to, change; like I ought to do what I want when I feel it’s the right time and don’t hesitate or regret it. It was this anime which made me wish to find for myself someone like Kokutou is to Shiki. I really have no other words to describe what this anime means to me so I’ll just stop here.

519082

Hope you’ve enjoyed reading so far!

Thirty-day anime challenge – Day 2:  Favourite Anime You’ve Watched So Far」への12件のフィードバック

    • You mean… ‘non-anime’?! O.o Well, I’d be torn between Criminal Minds and The Big Bang Theory… so give me a second to think about that, as I haven’t even considered it thus far…

      Criminal Minds wins 😀 I love both Dr. Reid along with his comrades from the BAU and Dr Cooper and his ‘C-Men’, but somehow THAT BAU team has won my heart ever since the first episode (which actually happened to be not the first episode of the first season) I watched, and for that it’s Criminal Minds that wins. Of course, it’d be worthy to mention that I’m also madly in love with forensics, especially forensic psychology, so that might have been an important factor when I decided my favourite 😀

      Glad you asked – thank you, in fact 😀 I had fun thinking about this, although it was painful to choose between Spencer and Sheldon *sigh*

      Anyway, your turn to answer the same – as long as you want to, of course 😀

      いいね

      • I meant TV series format of anime. Sorry, I didn’t make it clear. Thank you for taking the trouble of answering the question!

        To be honest, I don’t really watch English-language TV series. The only English series I’ve ever watched is Sherlock by BBC. And, yes, if I have to choose, it’s that series–not only because I had no other choice, but because I certainly feel that it’s really one of the best series out there and I genuinely love it. Sherlock ❤

        And yep, I'd like to try other series as well. I have been interested in The Big Bang Theory for quite some time now, but can't start watching it because I don't have a copy of the series. I'm not patient enough to just watch it online, waiting for the videos to buffer.

        So yeah, I'm taking note of your favorites, so that they'd be one of my top priorities to watch if ever I am in the mood to watch a non-anime series for a change. Thank you!

        いいね: 1人

        • Anyway, I am terribly sorry for the misunderstanding on my part.

          The issue is that I have always considered Boundary of Emptiness an anime series. I mean, of course, it’s a series of films, not of episodes, so in that regard it is way ‘outside the “normal” format’, but to me it’s an anime series.

          Now, if you put it like that, I suppose I’m in trouble (in an awfully funny way) and I could fail the challenge 😀 I’m in trouble because Boundary of Emptiness always ‘saved me’ when I had to choose a fav; it’s at the top of my list and there’s nothing above it. What is more, there is a pretty big gap between it and my other favourite anime series, such as Hyouka, Inuyasha, Durarara!!, FMA: Brotherhood, FMP!, AnoHana, Chihayafuru, Death Note, Mirai Nikki, Psycho-Pass and many others. See why I’d fail? I can’t chose between these and I can’t and don’t even want to try to compare them (because it’d be impossible and wrong on so many levels) and so I love them all…

          Disappointing answer, huh?! *sigh*

          いいね: 1人

          • Wow. Didn’t really expect you’d be having difficulty in choosing one series. Hahaha. Okay. I get your point.

            P.S. Kara no Kyoukai’s excellent animation is also thanks to the good movie production values, which put the title waaay above TV anime series and in a serious advantage in terms of aesthetics and animation quality and consistency. So yeah, how could one not love that animation?

            いいね

          • Yeah, sometimes I give people surprises like that, regarding what I choose, answer etc. Sometimes I love that, sometimes I think I’m below their expectations of me O.o

            Speaking of awesome animation, Makoto Shinkai’s films could rival that of many other series out there – THAT kind of animation that one finds for example, in The Garden of Words, is simply insane in the most brilliant way 😀

            いいね: 1人

          • This is one of the ways one knows an anime is ‘good’ (to say the least) – the level of ‘food for thought’ is overwhelming to the point where their brains smoke and there seems to be nothing else as important in this world as is figuring out what they meant or simply digesting brilliant ‘stuff’ (like you mentioned, the concepts presented in KnK) 😀

            いいね: 1人

I'd love to know what you think! (◍•ᴗ•◍)

